Framed Thread Holder

Published February 27, 2013 by mytimewellspent

Remember the Macro Lens that my husband gave me for Mother’s Day? Well that was one part of my Mother’s Day gift.  The next part was this thread holder.  He knew that I would want to tailor it to my liking so he waited until we could collaborate on it together.  I picked out the trim and colors and he assembled it!  He even took pictures for me in case I wanted to blog about it.  Of course! So here is what He we did.

Framed Thread Holder Tutorial
 
 

 Start with a piece of wood.  Ours was a piece of scrap wood that measured 10 1/4 inch x 18 3/8 inch x 3/4 inch . Using a carpenters square, measure out squares 1 1/2 inch x 1 1/2 inch and mark the center of each square.  Using a drill bit slightly smaller than the nails you will be using, drill almost completely through the board in the center of each of the squares.  We were able to get 6 squares per row on our board.  After every row we left a 1/4 inch space.  Make sure you leave a space around the outside of your board as well to attach your frame to.  We left a 5/8 inch space around to glue the frame onto.  It should look like this.

I picked out a trim that was polyurethane because it had the look I wanted for a cheaper price.  Because of this, I used Power Grab instead of wood glue.  If you have wood trim you can use wood glue instead.  For the nails we used 3 inch galvanized nails ( I liked the look of the galvanized better). 

Cut your trim at 45 degree angles to fit your board.

If you need help with cutting the trim you can check out this tutorial.

Next, start gluing them on according to the instructions on your glue of choice.

Once the trim is all on and dried, you can prime and paint.  We used Krylon Sun Yellow and glazed with Ralph Lauren Tea Stained Glaze.

Allow to dry and then add the nails.  We found that 2 hits with the hammer were all they really needed.

Now comes the fun part! Arranging your way too messy sewing box filled with tangled threads onto your new thread board holder!

Now you have a fun, beautiful and effective way to showcase or store your thread.  

I love making things myself but sometimes it is fun to have someone else make you just what you want!

 

I found this at:    http://greylustergirl.blogspot.com/2011/05/framed-thread-holder-tutorial.html

Say You...

