Ruffled Rosette Pillow Tutorial {from long sleeve t-shirts}

Published January 16, 2012 by mytimewellspent

IMG_2600-1

*This tutorial uses 2 LONG SLEEVE T-shirts*

Let’s get started and I’ll show you how I made this cute swirled ruffle pillow. 

IMG_2548


First off, I used my rotary cutter and cut the bottom hem off the t-shirt. 

IMG_2559


I measured my pillow insert and figured it was 14” square so I cut my fabric exactly the same. Normally, you would want to add fabric for your seam allowance, but since the fabric is knit and I wanted it to be tight, I cut it to the same dimensions as the pillow.  I also cut it so I left one of the  side seams intact. Less to sew later.  

IMG_2564


I then cut off one of the sleeves. 

IMG_2565


I cut off the sleeve hem and the seam that runs under the arm so I could open it up and cut some strips for my ruffles. 

IMG_2567

I cut as many strips as I could {I got 6 from one sleeve}. I cut each one 2” wide and as long as the sleeve would allow. 

IMG_2570

I made my ruffles like I made them here.  High tension, long stitch length. 


IMG_6017

Make sure all your pieces are pressed flat. The first thing we will do is make your ruffle. Take your strip of fabric and using a serge stitch or a small zig zag stitch {I use a button hole stitch set on a longer length} finish the two long edges of your ruffle strip. 

IMG_6026

Next you will make your ruffle. Using a long stitch and high tension make a baste stitch down the middle of your strip of fabric leaving long threads on each end {do NOT back stitch at either end}. You don’t have to use high tension, but it does some of the work for you and I’m all about less work.

 IMG_6031

Begin by pulling the top thread on one end and moving the fabric down the thread to create your ruffle. I do half from one end and then use the top thread on the other end and pull it to ruffle up the other half. You want to gather it up to a width of 7”.

IMG_2571

All ruffly. cuteness. 

IMG_2576

I took my ruffles and laid them out how I wanted them on the pillow. I only used 5 of the ruffles. 

IMG_2578

When I pinned them down I simply overlapped the ends of the ruffles. I laid the one on the bottom flat and tucked under the end of the top one. Hopefully you can see that in the picture. 

IMG_2579

Looks pretty good from the top. Ruffles hide lots of imperfections. 

IMG_2580

I started with the bottom ruffle since the end of it goes under the long middle swirl. 

IMG_2584

Make sure you adjust the tension and stitch length back to normal before you stitch the ruffles down.  I used lots of pins to hold the ruffles in place while I stitched them down to the front of the pillow cover. 

IMG_2586

All stitched down and lookin’ sweet. 

IMG_2589

I then flipped the case with right sides together and stitched the 2 sides together and the third side leaving a 6” opening for the pillow insert. 

IMG_2592

Trim your corners at a diagonal. 

IMG_2593

Turn right side out and push corners out with something that isn’t too sharp. I like to use a chopstick. Insert your pillow carefully, trying not to pull to hard on the opening {knit fabric with rip easily where it’s been stitched} 

IMG_2595

Pin your opening together and use a slip stitch to close your opening.  Here is a good tutorial on how to do a slip stitch. 

IMG_2603

All done. I made the pillow cover so that my slip stitch was at the bottom of the pillow.  

I found this at http://alisa-thesweetlife.blogspot.com/

Say You...

